Scary praise report…

Posted: May 31, 2009 in 2009
Tags:

Before I go into any more detail we want you to know that both Amanda and I are safe and unharmed by the grace of God.

We were walking home from our youth group tonight in the rain when a car suddenly stopped next to us and 3 guys got out in a hurry.  I knew right away something bad was about to happen and I told Amanda to “RUN!”  We both took off running in the opposite direction from the car and the 3 guys who got out pursued us.   I’m a bit faster than Amanda so I was outrunning her.  When I realized she was falling behind and that the guys in the car were still trying to get us, I turned around to let her get past me so that I would be between Amanda and them.  We had no idea if the men had guns or knives but we assumed they did.  One of the guys grabbed Amanda’s shirt but was unable to keep a hold of it and she was able to run past me.  I turned around a second time to see one of the men closing onto us fast.  All I could do was yell “NO!” as the guy was closing onto Amanda and after I yelled I stepped towards him and rammed the point of my umbrella into his face/chest region.  The umbrella immediately folded from the impact (ruined) and the man grabbed it.  I let go of the umbrella and took off running again.
By this time, we have already ran close to a quarter of a block away from their get away car and two of the 3 attackers we slowing their pursuit.  The guy that got jabbed with the umbrella was slowed down a bit but continued after us for a bit more. Finally he turned around and ran back towards their car.
We continued running and found the security guard that patrols that street.  I tried to tell him that robbers just tried to jack us and he ran up the block a little ways to see if he could get the plates.  Amanda and I ran around the block’s corner and ducked behind a bush just to make sure the car wouldn’t try to come back around to look for us. I don’t think I hit the robber in the face with the umbrella but I know that where ever that point landed, it landed HARD. So we stayed low for a little while until the security guard came back.  He called the police and we described to them what little information we could remember about the vehicle or the men who attempted to rob us.

We are a little shaken up.  We are thanking God that we are both unhurt and that nothing worse happened from this incident.

These sort of “drive-by robberies” are very common here in Costa Rica and the scum-bags aren’t too predujuice as to who will be their target.  Of course “gringos” are prime targets because of the common understanding that white people have more money.  But, this happens to the Costa Ricans just as frequently as it does to the gringos.  Amanda and I get mistaken for Ticos more often than we get pegged with the North American status.  Either way, God has been watching our backs time and time again since we’ve been here and we will continue praying for His divine protection.  So yeah, praise God we are okay, but continue to pray for our protection while we are here.   And please, pray also that Amanda and I will be sensitive to the Holy Spirit so that we would be able to hear when He may be guiding us out of  potential “bad situations.”  We know that we are safe NOW because of the prayers that have already been prayed and for that, we thank all of you prayer warriors who are constantly battling for us in the Spirit!!

We love you all!!

Comments
  1. Wow ~ what a story! It must’ve been quite scary for sure. PRAISE & thank God that you are both safe and unharmed!

  2. Rodolfo says:

    Hey guys,
    Beleve me we are very happy that you guys are OK, and we are thanking God because of that.

    Our family loves you a lot. Me too.

    God bless you

  3. Eve Chavez says:

    Wow! So grateful God is watching over you two! God’s protection is evident in your lives. Just think, you may be able to lead those guys to Christ someday! =) Keep up the good work and stay sensitive to the leading of the Holy Spirit!

Leave a Reply

